26 Feb 2009 - San Antonio
Today I pushed some code changes to our canonical repository. Well, at least I tried. I couldn’t because the user and group that were associated to that change had been changed by the prior user’s push. It was the user change that was the problem, it was the group change.
I found out that we needed to add “sharedrepository=true” to the /srv/git/our_repository/.git/config file so that the group assigned to the repo’s objects (/srv/git/our_repository/.git/objects) doesn’t get changed to the local user’s.
All the developers are a part of the same group on the git server; the same group initially assinged to the objects. With the “sharedrepository=true” setting, that won’t change when anyone from that group pushes to the canonically repository.